The Urantia Book

It’s been a long time since I’ve read the Urantia Book (UB).  But something inspired me to pick it up a few days ago, and start reading.  At first it was sort of tough going, because I didn’t have a clear idea of anything I had read before…I think the last time I read it sincerely was 2008 or 2009.  Certainly I hadn’t picked it up since at least January of 2010, and before that.  So I have forgotten a lot of what I read.  Anyway, it was sort of slow going, and I was hearing a lot of conflict in my head about it, but I chose to ignore it.  I decided to begin where I left off in Part IV with the life of Jesus.  Well, last night I came across this quote:

“This sermon was an effort on Jesus’ part to make clear the fact that religion is a personal experience.”

Then later on last night before I went to bed, I read this:

Jesus did not cling to faith in God as would a struggling soul at war with the universe and at death grips with a hostile and sinful world; he did not resort to faith merely as a consolation in the midst of difficulties or as a comfort in threatened despair; faith was not just an illusory compensation for the unpleasant realities and the sorrows of living.”

It goes on to say that Jesus’ faith was a living reality, and that his God is a living reality, and that he never prayed as a religious duty, or because it was prescribed, or because he was expected to.  I thought that astonishing, because I’ve learned to pray not only because I enjoy it, but because it’s expected of me.  All religions tell you to pray, and so we should.  Shouldn’t we?!

I want this living faith that Jesus had.  I also thought of what it meant to be a daughter of God.  A real daughter of God, the great Father in Heaven?  I don’t HAVE to bow down, or say a set formula of prayers each day?  I don’t have to appease, or wheedle by being good (but of course I love trying to be good)?  What exactly does that LOOK like?

Well, I shall continue reading the UB.  I am liking it.

Leave a comment